Packers @ Cowboys: Drunk Recap

So I had some beers during the game and I’m now drinking a celebratory whisky afterwards. Apologies for any mistakes or terrible writing.

WOW

What a game. Packers went up 21-3 to start the game and then slowly let the Cowboys back in through the rest of it. Finally, the ‘boys tied it up with less than four minutes left at 28. Packers hit a 56-yard field goal with less than two minutes. Cowboys hit a field goal with like :44 on the clock (can’t remember exactly but I think that was it).

This is a game the Packers lose. It’s a game that goes to overtime where the Cowboys get a stop and knock through a 30-something yard field goal on their first possession. We’ve seen it before. Two playoff games against the Cardinals have been lost in overtime. The 2014 Seahawks game was lost in overtime. I was ready to proclaim this one over as well.

But Mason Crosby is a god.

Remember four years ago when Crosby hit just 21 0f 33 field goals and everyone was calling for a new kicker? The Packers brought in a guy in training camp the next year, Crosby beat him out, and kept the job.

Since then, he’s hit 86% of his field goals and has extended his playoff field goal streak to 22, none more important than the last two he drove through.

Here’s my internal thoughts while watching the kick:

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-34-43-amOh, God, it’s really coming down to this… I wish he missed the first kick during the icing. It would make it hurt less…

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-35-10-amWow, it REALLY IS coming down to this. They snapped the ball. Here we go. What happened to our 18-point lead?!? Why???

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-35-33-am

Oh shit, where’s the ball? Did they block it? I think they blocked it. Overtime here we go.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-35-52-am

Wait, the camera’s still moving. Maybe they didn’t block it. WHERE’S THE BALL?????

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-36-23-am

THERE’S THE BALL BUT IT’S HEADED FOR THE UPRIGHT. Oh well. Overtime. WHY DID HE HAVE TO MAKE THE ICED KICK?!?!

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-36-58-am

OH MY GOD IT’S MOVING INSIDE. GO BALL GO!!! GO BALL GO!!!! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD GO TO THE RIGHT!!!!

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-2-37-11-am

oh my. it went in. there’s the officials with their arms up. that’s the game. packers win. how about that.

*actually pulled a muscle in my back because I fist-pumped too hard*

My girlfriend was sleeping in the other room so I couldn’t shout but I made some sort of mouse noise on accident and I actually did throw out my back a little from jumping up and punching the air. That’s not hyperbole. I proceeded to venmo my buddy some money to buy shots at the bar he’s at. He’s a Bears fan but I know he secretly loves/admires Aaron Rodgers and wants to see greatness. It felt really really good.

To be quite honest, part of me was okay with the Packers losing tonight. I would have been really mad that they blew an 18-point lead, but I would take solace in the idea that I could watch the last four football games of the season without any stress or pressure. I honestly think I lost a year off my life. I took my heart rate on that final drive (before that incredible toss and catch by Rodgers and Cook) and it was higher than when I finished my run earlier today. That’s not healthy.

But the relief and catharsis at the end – that was worth it. It felt really, really good.

The whole night felt really good.

Published by

crkrajew

Casey Krajewski lived in the Midwest for 22 years, then he moved to Spain. When he was in the Midwest, he liked sports. He still does, but it's hard to follow them here. These are his epic adventures pointless opinions. Contact Info: Twitter: @kazkrajewski | Email: krajewskicr@gmail.com | Hit me up.

Leave a Reply

